valmengaux-a-story-made-of-several-stories

Valmengaux: a story made of… several stories…

  • Starting with that of a couple of audacious winegrowers (Béatrice and Vincent Rapin), who chose to create an estate in 2000 from 30-70 year-old vines growing on gentle slopes with well-drained clay-limestone soil in the town of Vérac in order to make a great Bordeaux.
  • They were followed by another couple of enthusiastic new winegrowers who have been writing the next chapter in the history of this 4-hectare estate since 2017: Valérie (who maintains her human resources job in the medico-social field) and David (who spent 20 years in IT and management control with supermarket and video game companies) felt the desire to grow vines, to make good wine, and to live a different, more natural lifestyle. New chapter but same organic methods in the vineyard, with support from Béatrice and Vincent. .
  • Valmengaux’s history is also that of 50 friends who made this new adventure possible thanks to the formation of an agricultural land grouping called Les Amis de Valmengaux.
  • This part of the story revolves around a common cause: to make wines that reflect the terroir, without the use of chemicals, to provide pleasure and emotion.
  • The next instalment of Valmengaux’s history will be written when you drink the wine!
the-wines

The wines

From the vine to the bottle

The winemaking philosophy is the same in the vineyard and in the cellar – to produce the most natural possible wine. Concretely, this entails:

  • a strict respect for organic specifications, which forbid the use of weed killers and chemical insecticides. Although certification was obtained in 2012, organic winegrowing practices were applied as soon as the estate was created
  • limiting the number of bunches per vine so as to concentrate sugar and aromas in the grapes The bunches are more evenly spread out and better ventilated to reduce the risk of rot and fungal diseases. A virtuous circle
  • natural fermentation triggered only by indigenous yeast on the grape skins and in the cellar atmosphere
  • ageing for 18 months in an environment with temperature and humidity regulated by a ground-coupled heat exchanger. The size and age of the foudres (12 and 20-hectolitre wooden vats), oak barrels, and 500-litre earthenware jars give the wines a unique patina without denaturing them

And in the bottle

What about the juice?  90% Merlotand 10% Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon from vines 30-70 years old

Domaine de Valmengaux
Domaine de Valmengaux - EN JARRE

Valmengaux – Organic wine: beautiful deep, brilliant crimson colour, an expressive aromatic nose of red and black fruit, as well as a beautiful long aftertaste

Available vintages: 2015, 2016 in 75 cl and 150 cl bottles

Valmengaux – En Jarre – Organic wine: aged in earthenware jars that enhance aromas. The fruity flavours are enhanced and more complex

Available vintage: 2016, in 75 cl bottles

Press review / Medals

2015 vintage:

Θ Decanter World Wine Awards 2018 – Score: 90 (silver medal)

« Contemporary gloss and finesse; and highly polished Merlot fruit. Brooding damson nose, big velvety tannins, and a long and satisfying finish. »

Θ Gold medal at Sakura Japan Women’s Wine Awards 2018

Θ vinogusto.com: parmi les 3 vins de la Sélection Bordeaux 2018

« Nose full of black fruits and laurel. Round and spicy. Then a long finish. An excellent meal companion. »

Θ vinogusto.com: Valmengaux En Jarre one of the 12 Bordeaux Red 2015 ready to drink!

15/20 –  Valmengaux en Jarre is a very fruity organic wine. Its concentrated fruity aromas, its delicate tannins and its very supple and pleasant have appealed to us. A nice, very mature and well velvety discovery! Pleasure in a bottle – a very nice one by the way.”

Θ Robert parker – Neal Martin – Score: 88 (barrel tastings)

“The 2015 Valmengaux has a punchy , fiesty red cherry and wild strawberry- scented bouquet .The palate is medium – bodied with a soft , supple entry ,very fleshy in the mouth , through it needs just a little more structure on the finish”

Θ Jean Marc Quarin – Carnet n° 78 – Score: 87 (barrel tastings)

Previous vintages:

Θ Vivino: 4* (out of 5)

Θ Blog levindetoutunchacun, 2012 – 15/20

news

News

Valmengaux in the top 12 wine picks from Bordeaux converts

Decanter magazine – Bordeaux au naturel

… that’s what Simon Woolf writes in the last issue of english magazine DECANTER. Within a list of renowned wineries: Pontet-Canet, Fonroque, Palmer, Le Puy… Famous teammates for Domaine de Valmengaux 2015… available in the UK by the end of the year.

Tasting notes (for subscribers) here. Read Simon Woolf’s article too: he explains how practices have changed in Bordeaux, in the wake of pioners estates of the area.

Share this:

2019: another beautiful harvest

The 2019 harvest, from the vine to the winery

The 2019 harvest is in the vats! On Friday, September 20, 25 people worked actively in the vineyards. On the agenda: cutting bunches, pruner by hand, loading into crates and sorting grapes, from sunrise until nightfall! Small aromatic berries, rich in sugars and color, are the characteristics of this vintage. Vines were about to suffer from the lack of water since the beginning of summer, especially the week before the harvest. In practical terms, leaves were beginning to turn yellow, some berries to wither. In the end, on the quality side, the 2019 vintage should be close to 2018 🙂 . But the path from grapes to bottles is still long…

A few words about hand-picking vs machine. In my humble opinion, respecting the vines is the key: the harvesting machines are heavy and pack down the soil, they make vines more fragile as they shake them strongly to bring down the grapes … and sometimes the most fragile vines too. I think hand-picking is more consistent to our organic approach. However, I do not cast anathema on the harvesting machines, which also have their advantages, and those who use them. Pros and cons, simply explained here

Share this:
portfolio

Portfolio

domaine-de-valmengaux-two

Domaine de VALMENGAUX

VALMENGAUX is located 40 km from Bordeaux and
20 km from Saint Émilion. We will be delighted to welcome you, to show you our vines and cellar, to offer you a taste of our wines, and sell them to you.
Please call beforehand to be sure that we are there.
Looking forward to seeing you soon!

David & Valérie VALLET

welcome@vlmgx.com

+33 (0)6.43.01.97.87

EARL Nouveau Domaine de Valmengaux

7, lieu-dit Godineau

33240 VERAC

F R A N C E

front-page

valmengaux

Valmengaux, c’est l’histoire de… plusieurs histoires :

  • Celle d’un couple de vignerons audacieux (Béatrice et Vincent Rapin) qui a choisi de bâtir ce domaine en 2000 sur les coteaux en pente douce de Vérac plantées de vignes de 30 à 70 ans d’âge sur des sols argilo-calcaires bien drainés propices à l’élaboration d’un grand Bordeaux
  • Celle d’un autre couple de néo-vignerons, passionnés de vin qui, depuis 2017, poursuit l’histoire de ce domaine de 4 hectares, toujours en bio, avec le soutien de leurs prédécesseurs : Valérie, (toujours) responsable ressources humaines dans le secteur médico-social ; David, 20 ans passés en contrôle de gestion et systèmes d’information, dans la grande distribution et les jeux vidéo… et l’envie de cultiver des vignes, faire du (bon) vin et vivre autrement
  • Celle de 50 amis qui ont rendu possible cette nouvelle aventure via un groupement foncier viticole, « Les Amis de Valmengaux »
  • Celle d’une ambition partagée : faire des vins de plaisir, d’émotion, qui expriment ce que le terroir et la vigne ont de meilleur à donner, pas ce que la chimie voudrait leur faire dire
  • Celles que vous écrirez avec nous en buvant Valmengaux !
les-vins

Les vins

De la terre à la bouteille

A la vigne comme au chai, l’approche est la même : créer les conditions propices au bon développement du raisin et du jus qui en découle. Concrètement, cela veut dire :

  • un strict respect du cahier des charges bio qui interdit l’usage des désherbants et insecticides de synthèse. Si la certification est intervenue en 2012, les pratiques bio étaient déjà appliquées depuis la création du domaine
  • une limitation du nombre de grappes par pied pour une meilleure concentration des sucres et des arômes dans chaque grain. Limiter pour mieux répartir, mieux ventiler et réduire les risques de développement de champignons/pourriture. Un cercle vertueux donc
  • des fermentations naturelles, seulement provoquées par les levures contenues sur la peau des grains de raisin et dans l’atmosphère du chai
  • un élevage de 18 mois dans un chai à la température et l’hygrométrie régulées par un puits canadien. La taille et l’âge des foudres (12 et 20hl), barriques bois et jarres (500 et 800l) patinent les vins sans les dénaturer

Dans la bouteille

Et le jus dans tout ça? 90% merlot, 10% cabernets, issus de vignes de 30 à 70 ans d’âge.

Domaine de Valmengaux
Domaine de Valmengaux - EN JARRE

Valmengaux – Vin bio: les fruits rouge/noirs sont là, à l’oeil (une belle robe pourpre soutenue et brillante), au nez, expressif et aromatique, et en bouche,  avec une bonne longueur finale

Millésimes disponibles: 2015, 2016, en bouteille de 75cl et 150cl

Valmengaux – En Jarre – Vin bio: l’élevage en jarre agit ici comme un exhausteur d’arômes. Le fruit est encore plus présent et plus complexe aussi

Millésime disponible: 2016, en bouteille de 75cl

Revue de presse / Récompenses

Millésime 2015:

Θ Decanter World Wine Awards 2018 – Note 90 (médaille d’argent)

« La brillance et la finesse d’un vin moderne, un merlot fruité très élégant. Au nez, des arômes de quetsche;  des tanins marqués mais veloutés; une finale longue et plaisante »

Θ Médaille d’or au concours de dégustation des femmes japonaises Sakura 2018 (Japon)

Θ vinogusto.com: parmi les 3 vins de la Sélection Bordeaux 2018

« Nez chargé en fruits noirs et en laurier. Le goût est tout en rondeur et épicé. Ajoutez à cela sa longue finale et vous avez un excellent candidat pour accompagner un repas. »

Θ vinogusto.com: cuvée En Jarre parmi les 12 Bordeaux rouges 2015 à boire dès aujourd’hui

« 15/20 –  Le Domaine de Valmengaux en Jarre est un vin bio très fruité. Il nous a séduits par la concentration des arômes de fruit au nez, la finesse des tanins et la bouche globalement très souple et digeste. Une belle découverte, très mature, bien veloutée. Du plaisir en bouteille, qui est d’ailleurs très jolie. »

Θ Robert parker – Neal Martin – Note 88 (primeurs)

« The 2015 Valmengaux has a punchy , fiesty red cherry and wild strawberry- scented bouquet .The palate is medium – bodied with a soft , supple entry ,very fleshy in the mouth , through it needs just a little more structure on the finish »

Θ Jean Marc Quarin – Carnet n° 78 – Note 87 (primeurs)

Millésimes antérieurs:

Θ Vivino: 4* (sur 5)

Θ Blog levindetoutunchacun, 2012 – 15/20

twoninetwoeight-two

Actualité

Valmengaux parmi les 12 meilleurs choix de Bordeaux bio

Decanter magazine – Bordeaux au naturel

… ce n’est pas moi qui le dit mais Simon Woolf, dans le dernier numéro du magazine anglais DECANTER. Et en bonne compagnie: Pontet-Canet, Fonroque, Palmer, Le Puy… Du beau monde aux côtés du Domaine de Valmengaux 2015… qui sera sur le marché britannique d’ici la fin de l’année.

Notes de dégustation à lire (pour les abonnés) ici. Lisez aussi l’article de Simon Woolf qui explique que les pratiques évoluent à Bordeaux, dans le sillon des domaines pionniers dans la région.

Share this:

2019: encore une belle vendange

Les vendanges 2019, de la vigne au chai

La vendange 2019 est dans les cuves! Vendredi 20 septembre, 25 personnes se sont activées dans les vignes. Au programme: coupe des grappes, sécateur à la main, chargement dans les cagettes et tri des raisins, du lever du jour jusqu’à la nuit tombée! De petits grains aromatiques, riches en sucres et en couleur, telles sont les caractéristiques de ce millésime. Le manque d’eau depuis le début de l’été commençait à se faire ressentir, notamment la semaine précédent les vendanges. Concrètement, des feuilles commençaient à jaunir, certaines baies à flétrir. Au final, en terme de qualité, le millésime 2019 devrait se rapprocher du 2018 :-). Mais le chemin du raisin à la bouteille est encore long…

Des vendanges manuelles donc, comme d’habitude, plutôt qu’à la machine à vendanger. Pourquoi? D’abord pour respecter la vigne: les machines à vendanger sont lourdes et tassent le sol, elles secouent fortement les pieds de vignes pour faire tomber les grains de raisins suffisamment mûrs… et parfois les vieux ceps fragiles. Cette pratique me semble ainsi plus cohérente de notre démarche de viticulture biologique. Pour autant, je ne jette pas l’anathème sur les machines à vendanger, qui ont aussi leurs avantages, et ceux qui y ont recours. Les pour et les contre, simplement expliqués ici

Share this:
portfolio

Portfolio

domaine-de-valmengaux-two

Domaine de VALMENGAUX

Le domaine de VALMENGAUX est situé à 40 km de Bordeaux et à 20 km de Saint-Emilion. Vous y êtes les bienvenus pour nous rencontrer, visiter nos vignes et notre chai, goûter et acheter nos vins.
Appelez-nous au préalable pour être sûr de nous trouver.
A bientôt!

David & Valérie VALLET

welcome@vlmgx.com

+33 (0)6.43.01.97.87

EARL Nouveau Domaine de Valmengaux

7, lieu-dit Godineau

33240 VERAC

F R A N C E

front-page
actualite